## <u>Proclamation of 9 November 1990, pursuant to section 7 of the Seas and Submerged Lands</u> <u>Act 1973</u>

I, William George Hayden, Governor-General of the Commonwealth of Australia, acting with the advice of the Federal Executive Council and under section 7 of the Seas and Submerged Lands Act 1973, hereby declare that on and from 20 November 1990 the outer limit of the territorial sea of Australia, other than the parts of the territorial sea referred to in the Schedule, is 12 international nautical miles measured from the baseline established under international law or as otherwise determined by proclamation under section 7 of the Seas and Submerged Lands Act 1973 from time to time.

## **SCHEDULE**

## EXCEPTED PARTS OF THE TERRITORIAL SEA

- 1. The territorial sea in respect of an island referred to in schedule 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6 or 7 to the Proclamation under section 7 of the Seas Submerged Lands Act 1973 dated 4 February 1983 with regard to certain islands comprised within the State of Queensland.
- 2. The territorial sea in respect of the island referred to in schedule 8 to that Proclamation to the extent that that Proclamation determines the outer limit of that part of the territorial sea adjacent to that island which lies north of the parallel of Latitude 9° 33' 00" South.

Bill Hayden GIVEN under my Hand and the Great Seal of Australia on 9 November 1990