Chapter 1 of Title 18 of the Code of the Federated States of Micronesia (Annotated), as amended by

(2) Jurisdiction with regard to the establishment and use of artificial islands, installations, and structures; marine scientific research; and the protection and preservation of the marine environment; and

(3) Other rights and duties provided for in international law.

Section 105A. Contiguous Zone.

(1) There is hereby established a Contiguous Zone, comprising those areas of the sea that are beyond and adjacent to the Territorial Sea. The inner boundary of the contiguous zone is the seaward boundary of the Territorial Sea. The outer boundary of the Contiguous Zone is a line, every point of which is not more than 24 M seaward of the nearest point of the baseline as defined in section 101 of this title.

(2) The President may, from time to time, by Proclamation, declare the limits of the whole or of any part of the contiguous zone of the Federated States of Micronesia.

(3) Within the Contiguous Zone, the National Government of the Federated States of Micronesia may exercise the control necessary to:

(a) prevent infringement of its customs, fiscal, immigration or sanitary laws and regulations within the territory of the Federated States of Micronesia or the Territorial Sea; and

(b) punish infringement of its customs, fiscal, immigration or sanitary laws and regulations committed within the territory of the Federated States of Micronesia or the territorial sea.

Section 105B. Continental Shelf.

(1) There is hereby established a Continental Shelf comprising of the seabed and subsoil of the submarine areas that extend beyond the Territorial Sea throughout the natural prolongation of the land territory to the outer edge of the continental margin, or to a distance of 200 M from the baselines from which the breadth of the Territorial Sea is measured where the outer edge of the continental margin does not extend up to that distance.

(2) Subject to subsection (3) of this section and any relevant international agreement to which the Federated States of Micronesia is a party:

(a) the inner boundary of the Continental Shelf is the seaward boundary of the Territorial Sea; and

(b) the outer boundary of the Continental Shelf is a line, every point of which is not more than 200 M seaward of the nearest point on the baseline as defined in section 101 of this title.

(3) Where the continental shelf is beyond 200 M, it shall not extend more than 350 M from any of the baselines recognized under Schedule 1 from which the breadth of the Territorial Sea is measured.

Section 105C. Extension of Continental Shelf.

Whenever the continental margin extends beyond 200 M from the baselines as defined in section 101, the outer limits of the continental shelf are to be established in accordance with Article 76 of the Convention.

Section 105D. Rights and jurisdiction over the Continental Shelf.

Within the Continental Shelf, the National Government of the Federated States of Micronesia shall have:

(a) sovereign rights for the purpose of exploring the continental shelf and exploiting its natural resources,

(b) exclusive rights to authorize and regulate drilling on the continental shelf for all purposes,

(c) exclusive rights to construct, authorize and regulate the construction, operation and use of artificial islands, installations and structures,

(d) jurisdiction with respect to protection and preservation of the marine environment, and

(e) the right to regulate, authorize and conduct marine scientific research.

Section 106. Submerged reefs.

Traditionally recognized fishing rights in submerged reef areas wherever located within

(6) "Island" means a naturally formed area of land, surrounded by water, which is a a .

(7) "Low-water" means the Lowest Astronomical Tide.

(8) "Low-tide" has a corresponding meaning.

(9) "Mile" or "M" means the international nautical mile, equivalent to 1,852 meters.

(10) "Straight line" means geodesic.

(11) "Territorial Sea" means the territorial sea of the Federated States of Micronesia.

(12) "Zones" means the different maritime zones recognized in the Convention, namely: the territorial sea, the contiguous zone, the exclusive economic zone, and the continental shelf.