## 2005 Special High-level Meeting of ECOSOC with the Bretton Woods institutions, the World Trade Organization and the United Nations Conference on Trade and Development

## Monday, 18 April 2005 New York

## PROGRAMME

9.30 am	Opening of the meeting (ECOSOC Chamber)
	Welcome and introduction of panelists by <b>HE Mr. Munir Akram</b> , President of ECOSOC (7 minutes) Opening statement by <b>HE Mr. Kofi Annan</b> , Secretary-General of the United Nations (7 minutes)
	Statements by Inter-governmental Representatives (7 min. each):
	<b>HE Mr. Trevor Manuel,</b> Minister of Finance of South Africa, Chair of the Development Committee
	HE Ms. Mary Whelan, Permanent Representative of Ireland to the
	United Nations & the WTO in Geneva, President of the Trade and Development Board
	Mr. Agustin Carstens, Designated Representative of the Chair of the International Monetary and Finance Committee
10.30 am	Breakup into six round tables <sup>1</sup>
10.45 am	Reconvene in six round tables (ECOSOC Chamber and Conference Room 5, 6, 7, 8 and 9) for dialogue in an informal setting
	Round Table A: "Policies and strategies" Conference Room 6
	<i>Co-Chairpersons:</i> Ms. Carin Jamtin, Minister for International Development Cooperation, Sweden; and Dr. Elias Saba, Minister of Finance, Lebanon

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>1</sup>There will be six roundtables, two each on the three th

*Lead discussants:* Ms. Hilde F. Johnson, Minister of International Development, Norway; and Mr. Agustin Carstens, Deputy Managing Director, International Monetary Fund

*Discussants:* Mr. Suma Chakrabarti, Permanent Secretary, Department for International Development, United Kingdom; Mr. Burhanuddin Abdullah, Governor of the Central Bank, Indonesia; and Mr. Ph. Etienne, Director-General of International Cooperation, France

Round Table B: "Policies and strategies" Conference Room 7

*Co-Chairpersons*: H.E. Mr. Willy Kiekens, Senior Executive Director, International Monetary Fund; and H.E. Ms. Seraphine Wakana, Minister for Planning, Development and Reconstruction, Burundi

*Lead discussants:* Mr. Juan Somavia, Director-General, International Labour Organisation; and Mr. Ian Goldin, Vice-President, World Bank

*Discussants:* Ms. Brigita Schmognerova, Executive Secretary of the Economic Commission for Europe (ECE); and H.E. Ms. Ruth Jacoby, Director-General, Ministry for Foreign Affairs, Sweden

Round Table C: "**Trade, investment, and private flows**" Conference Room 8

*Co-Chairpersons:* H.E. Mr. Fernando Canales Clarion, Ministry of Economy, Mexico; and H.E. Mrs. Mary Whelan, President, Trade and Development Board, UNCTAD

*Lead discussants:* Mr. Carlos Fortin, Officer-in-Charge of the United Nations Conference on Trade and Development

*Discussant:* H.E. Mr. Mohammed-Jafar Mojarrad, Deputy Central Bank Governor of the Islamic Republic of Iran; and H.E. Mr. Hamed Al-Sayari, Governor of the Saudi Arabian Monetary Agency

Round Table D: "**Trade, investment, and private flows**" Conference Room 9

*Co-Chairpersons:* H.E. Dr. Abdul Hafeez Sheikh, Minister of Privatization and Investment, Pakistan; and Mr. Eckhard Karl Deutscher, Executive Director, World Bank (Germany)

*Lead discussants:* Mr. Francisco Thompson-Flores, Deputy Director General of the World Trade Organization; and Mr. Bruce Montador, VicePresident of the Canadian International Development Agency

*Discussant:* H.E. Mr. Vladimir Tvaroska, State Secretary, Ministry of Finance, Slovakia

Round Table E: "**ODA**, **innovative sources of financing and debt**" ECOSOC Chamber

*Co-Chairpersons:* H.E. Mr. Manuel Chang, Minister of Finance, Mozambique<sup>1</sup>; and Mr. Tom Scholar, Executive Director, International Monetary Fund and World Bank (United Kingdom)

*Lead discussants:* Mr. José Antonio Ocampo, Under-Secretary-General, Department of Economic and Social Affairs; Mr. Peter Ammon, Director-General, Federal Ministry of Foreign Affairs, Germany; and Mr. Richard Manning, Chairman of OECD/DAC

*Discussants:* Ms. Maria Luiza Viotti, Director-General, Department for Humanitarian and Social Affairs, Ministry of External Relations, Brazil

Round Table F: "**ODA**, innovative sources of financing and debt" Conference Room 5

*Co-Chairpersons:* Mr. Anastas Angjeli, Minister of Economy, Albania; and Mr. Yahya Al-Yahya, Dean of the Board, World Bank

*Lead discussants:* Mr. Pierre Duquesne, IMF/World Bank ED (France); and Dr. Rakesh Mohan, Secretary of the Department of Economic Affairs, Ministry of Finance, India

*Discussants:* Mr. Ron Keller, Director-General of International Cooperation, Ministry of Foreign Affairs of the Netherlands; and Mr. Ibrahim H. Canakci, Undersecretary of the Treasury of Turkey

(No introductory or written statements; interventions not to exceed 3 minutes; free exchange of views on an individual basis; no speakers' list in advance, instead follow flow of discussion).

- 1.00 pm Chairs conclude the round tables
- 1.10-2.40 pm Luncheon hosted by the President of ECOSOC Keynote address by H.E. Dr. Abdul Hafeez Sheikh, Minister of Privatization and Investment of Pakistan on "Promoting Investments in Low-Income Countries"

2.45 pm	Reconvene in ECOSOC Chamber
2.45 pm	Panel comprising the Chairs of the round tables (Each report 3-4 minutes)
3.00 pm	Statements by civil society and private sector representatives (5 minutes each)
	Dr. Jo Marie Griegraber, Chair of New Rules for Global Finance Coalition Ms. Maria Livanos Cattaui, Secretary-General of the International Chamber of Commerce
3.10 pm	Exchange of views among participants
4.25 pm	Closing remarks by the President of ECOSOC (5 minutes)

-----