on A

AcademicAfrica2024 | bit.ly/academicafrica2024w [(b)1i 2-2 (2)rnc5 2-2dm ()Tj EN

Thursday, 5 December

Theme: From Theory to Action: Leveraging African Scholarship in Policy Development

Location: Conference Room 2, United Nations Headquarters, New York

Time: 10:00 a.m. to 1:00 p.m. New York local time

Roundtable Discussion and Interactive Dialogue with the Audience

- x MODERATORProf. Kelechi Kalu, Professor of Political Science, University of California Riverside
- x <u>Prof. Cheryl Hendricks</u>, Executive Director, Institute for Justice and Reconciliation; Former Executive Director, African Institute of South Africa, Human Sciences Research Council
- x Hon. Ronald Reagan Okumu, Former Member of Parliament (1996-2021), Uganda
- x Prof. Luwam Dirar, Assistant Professor of Law, Western New England University
- x <u>Prof. Toussaint Kafarhire Murhula</u>, President of the African Studies Association of Africa (ASAA); Director of Centre Arrupe, a centre for research and formation in Lubumbashi
- x <u>H.E. Ashraf Swelam</u>, Assistant Minister of Foreign Affairs for African Organizations & Communities / Chairman of AUDA -NEPAD Steering Committee / Focal Point of Egypt to the African Peer Review Mechanism
- x Prof. Paul Tiyambe Zeleza, Senior Advisor for Strategic Initiatives and Professor of African Studies, Howard University
- x DISCUSSANTS:
 - Ms. Jayashri Wyatt, Chief, Education Outreach Section Outreach Division, Department of Global Communications, representing United Nations Academic Impact (UNAI)
 - o Ms. Christina McElwaine, Chief Operations Officer United Nations University Centre for Policy Research(UNU)

MASTER OF CEREMONIE Mr. Ben Dotsei Malor, Chief Editor, UN News



Prof. Kelechi Kalu



Hon. Ronald R. Okumu



Prof. Cheryl Hendricks



Prof. Luwam Dirar



Prof. Toussaint K. Murhula



Prof. Paul T. Zeleza



H.E. Ashraf Swelam

Closing Remarks

x Cristina Duarte, Under-Secretary-General and United Nations Special Adviser on Africa



Financial support from the United Nations Peace and Development Trust Fund is gratefully acknowledged.